Duleep Trophy Closing: West Zone 4 Wickets Away from Title Win

West Zone closed in on a memorable come-from-behind victory as they took out the South Zone high and middle-order after setting them an inconceivable victory goal of 529 within the Duleep Trophy remaining right here on Saturday.

Reeling at 156 for six at stumps on the fourth and penultimate day, South Zone had been looking at a heavy defeat as they trailed by 375 runs.

ALSO READ | ‘You’re an Inspiration: Jhulan Receives ‘Gaurd of Honour’ from England Ladies in Her Final Internatioal Innings – WATCH

West Zone put up a mammoth 585 for 4 of their second innings after conceding a 57-run first-innings result in their opponents.

Prolific run-scorer Sarfaraz Khan recorded a high quality, unbeaten century (127 off 178 balls) to proceed West’s cost after in a single day double centurion Yashavi Jaiswal was dismissed for 265 on the SNR School Cricket Floor.

On the finish of third day’s play, West Zone had been 376 for 3 and Jaiswal was batting on 209 off 244 balls. Jaiswal started the day from the place he had left final night, including seven extra boundaries to the 23 he had hit by the tip of third day’s play.

Jaiswal finally fell to off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham, having confronted 330 deliveries throughout his monumental knock and added 164 runs with Sarfaraz for the fourth wicket.

There was no respite, nonetheless, for the South bowlers as Sarfaraz went about his job with consummate ease to swell his crew’s total lead and put them in a commanding place.

In all, Sarfaraz discovered the fence 11 occasions and cleared it twice, whereas additionally stitching collectively an unbroken partnership of 103 runs with Het Patel (51 not out) to compound South Zone’s distress.

The declaration from West skipper Ajinkya Rahane got here after Sarfaraz accomplished his century on Duleep Trophy debut. Patel, coming off a wonderful 98 within the first innings, scored his runs rapidly, going through simply 61 balls whereas hitting seven fours and a six.

Batting for 5 classes, West left their opponents flattened, and the South Zone crew didn’t fairly recuperate from that. This was evident from their second innings batting as, excluding Rohan Kunnummal (93 off 100 balls), all batters didn’t reside as much as the problem.

Whilst his colleagues left one after one other, Kunnummal was in a position to bat fluently for the runs he scored together with his crew in a particularly tough scenario.

All of South Zone’s skilled batters failed and fell to the tempo duo of Atit Sheth and Jaydev Unadkat, who bowled very nicely and grabbed two wickets apiece.

Kunnummal waged a lone battle, however he too fell on the fag finish of the day, bowled by left-arm spinner Shams Mulani, who completed the day with figures of two/24 from seven overs.

The likes of skipper Hanuma Vihari, Mayank Agarwal, Baba Indrajith and Manish Pandey all didn’t put up a semblance of a struggle.

Transient Scores:

West Zone 270 and 585/4 declared in 128 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 265, Shreyas Iyer 71, Sarfaraz Khan 127; R Sai Kishore 2/157, Ok Gowtham 2/235).

South Zone 327 and 154/6 in 40 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 93; Jaydev Unadkat 2/26, Atit Sheth 2/29, Shams Mulani 2/24).

Get the newest Cricket Information, Schedule and Cricket Stay Scores right here

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment